Family Friday

I love family. In a time when it seems difficult to keep a family together and functioning as a unit, I feel grateful to have so many in my life who feel it is important to work at staying united and supportive.

At the core is my immediate family. I have loved every minute of being a mom, and I am grateful to my husband for making it possible for me to be with my two sons for each and every milestone, large and small.  My parents are incredible people, and my siblings are also near and dear friends.

As if that wasn’t enough, I have also been blessed with magnificent in-laws. Parents, more siblings, nieces, nephews–I couldn’t ask for better.

Then there is my united spiritual family, local and world-wide.

So in honor of all these people who make my life safe, secure and so very happy, here are a few quotes about family that top my list:

“You must remember, family is often born of blood, but it doesn’t depend on blood. Nor is it exclusive of friendship. Family members can be your best friends, you know. And best friends, whether or not they are related to you, can be your family.” ― Trenton Lee Stewart, The Mysterious Benedict Society

This is part of what a family is about, not just love. It’s knowing that your family will be there watching out for you. Nothing else will give you that. Not money. Not fame. Not work.”― Mitch Albom, Tuesdays With Morrie

“It is not until much later, as the skin sags and the heart weakens, that children understand; their stories, and all their accomplishments, sit atop the stories of their mothers and fathers, stones upon stones, beneath the waters of their lives.”― Mitch Albom, The Five People You Meet in Heaven 

“A bolt of warmth, fierce with joy and pride and gratitude, flashed through me like sudden lightning. I don’t care about whose DNA has recombined with whose. When everything goes to hell, the people who stand by you without flinching—they are your family. And they were my heroes.”― Jim Butcher, Proven Guilty 

Other things may change us, but we start and end with the family.”― Anthony Brandt
 
 “There’s nothing that makes you more insane than family. Or more happy. Or more exasperated. Or more . . . secure.” ― Jim Butcher, Vignette 
 
“Being a family means being a part of something very wonderful. It means you will love and be loved for the rest of your life. No matter what.” 
 
I don’t know to whom to attribute the last quote.  If someone does, please let me know. 
 
And finally:
 
“Writers will happen in the best of families.”― Rita Mae Brown 
 
Maybe they’re nice to me so they don’t end up in a novel? 🙂
 
Do you have a favorite quote about family?
 
Your thoughts, please...

