Word-Pressing On

Another Monday is almost over and I am so tired I might fall asleep posting this.

I have been making an effort to respond to the awards that Sheri de Grom so kindly passed my direction.  I’m still working on whom to send them on to.  I am a little new here, blogging with WordPress.  Have to say I am loving it! But I don’t know that many people here yet.  I am an introvert through and through.

I have this inclination: when I get stuck on something (like trying to find people to share an award with), I stay stuck.  I think it’s a better idea to press on with what I do have than to let everything come to a crashing halt due to what I lack.  (Hence few posts last week.)

So Sheri: I will work until I can pass the awards on the way they are meant to be passed along. Till then, it’s Marvelous Monday and time to pass on this little tidbit:

Have you ever seen octopus eggs?  I found a picture over the weekend. I think I was drawn to it because I have a picture book manuscript called Octopus Shoes that will soon be looking for a home.

I am providing a link to the picture, because I have no idea how to go about getting permission to put it here on my blog. The site had many interesting facts on octopus reproduction, which is apparently a field wide open for more research.

A most fascinating part of the article came in a box at the end of page 5.  Octopi (or octopuses, as they are refered to in the article) are known for their ability to camouflage, which I assumed meant changing color to blend in with whatever the surroundings might be.  Turns out that there is more involved, at least for the brown octopus.  This species not only changes color for camouflage, it will also take on the shape of a predator of whatever species happens to be stalking the octopus.  For example, the common enemy of the damselfish is the sea snake. So when a brown octopus is confronted by a damselfish, it contorts its body to look like a sea snake: shape and color.

Smart, eh?  The article goes on to talk about the personalities that have been discovered in octopi under observation.  It is fascinating reading.

Isn’t it a wonderful world?

Image

Your thoughts, please...

