To My Fellow Drivers

…with whom I share the road…

share

[shair]

noun
4.

to use, participate in, enjoy, receive, etc., jointly

I know that things crop up in life that make us take to the road and maybe not be as attentive or careful as we normally would be.

I watch car after car whiz past me and think maybe that guy’s wife is in labor now with triplets.  Maybe that woman’s mother was just taken to the hospital from an accident scene.  Maybe this is the first time that gentleman has been late to work in five years, and wouldn’t it be the day that important presentation needs to start on time!

I like to give people the benefit of the doubt, think kind thoughts, be forgiving.  But sometimes it gets tough.  It’s hard to rationalize that 85 to 90% of the people on the road are in crisis mode in which it is crucial to move from A to point B in the fastest amount of  time, ignoring all traffic signs (speed limit!) and rules (yield, signal your intentions, leave a safe distance between you and the car in front of you).

Traffic laws are put in place for a reason: for the greater good of the public at large.  Even if you feel you are an extraordinary driver for whom most traffic laws are not necessary and should not apply, most of the people around you are average and it is safer for them and for you, if you follow the rules.  The road is not yours, nor mine, nor anyone else’s.  We share (see definition above).  While you drive it is never only about you.  It’s about you and everyone on the road with you arriving at their destination safe and sound.

Honestly, there simply must be room on a three-lane, one-directional highway for me to do the speed limit.

It is my job to be safe and courteous to other drivers on the road.  It is not my job to facilitate the commission of a crime.

crime

[krahym]  

noun

1.

an action or an instance of negligence that is deemed injurious to the public welfare or morals or tothe interests of the state and that is legally prohibited.
Photo by Penny Mathews

Photo by Penny Mathews

Speeding is legally prohibited.
All I would like to do is move from point A to point B at the posted speed limit. Do I do it in the left lane?  No.  I am polite enough to leave that for the criminals speeders.  Do I travel in the far right lane?  No.  People are exiting or merging with traffic, generally working their way down from or up to the speed limit.  I leave the right lane for the slow movers to make adjustments without another pile of steel and plastic riding the bumper.  I settle in the middle lane until I am close to my exit, and that, my dear driver with whom I share the road, is where I plan to stay while obeying the law.
So don’t come up behind me in the middle lane and flash your lights, tailgate or otherwise pester me to get out of your way so that you can break the law.  Move to the left (or to the right if you really want to mess up) and go around me to continue your criminal activity  or slow down.  It’s that simple. I am going to obey the law on my piece of the road and let other drivers do whatever it is they want to do on the other two-thirds of the highway.
Photo by Kevin Dowey

Photo by Kevin Dowey

I share. And I ask of you, my fellow drivers who share the road, is please do the same. 
Your thoughts, please...

