New Month!

So, what do I do with myself this month? Prompts worked pretty good to keep me going in August. But my most popular post was an opinion piece. I write all sorts of op-ed pieces in my head about things I read online or hear on the news.  Maybe that would be something to try for September. I’m not fully convinced it’s a good idea yet.  We shall see. 

As for today, I think I’m going to share a crock pot roasted chicken recipe that makes me wonder sometimes why I make chicken any other way.  It is so easy and so yummy and you can adapt the recipe to your own preferences.  If you have a large crock pot you can even do two birds and have cooked chicken for recipes later on.  I love two-for-one dinners. 

This recipe was adapted from Roast “Sticky” Chicken on http://www.food.com.  

 

Photo by Nathalie Dulex

Crock Pot Roasted Chicken

Ingredients

2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons smoked paprika
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon white pepper
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 large roasting chicken (a fryer works just fine!)
2 large onions, peeled and cut in eighths or sixteenths. Large chunks! 

Fresh rosemary sprigs 

 

Directions

Blend first 7 spices together and set aside.

Remove neck and giblets from chicken cavity, rinse well inside and out, and pat dry with paper towels.

Rub chicken with spice mixture, both inside and out. I loosen the skin wherever I can and use a small spoon to sprinkle the spices between the skin and meat. Toss any remaining rub with the cut onion, stuff cavity with onions, and throw any onions that don’t fit in the bottom of your crock pot.

Place the chicken breast side down on top of the onions. (Juices from the dark meat baste the breast meat and keep the white meat moist.) Throw rosemary sprigs in around the chicken. 

Cook on high till the yummy smell is overwhelming and you have to nibble, about 4-6 hours. 

If you do two chickens double the rub and stand them up side by side, breast side together.

Experiment! I may try lemon and parsley next time….Not sure I can sneak that past my hubby though.  And he sure enjoys this recipe, though I do increase the pepper for him. I will also use smoked black pepper when I have it on hand.

Enjoy!

 

 
Your thoughts, please...

