Won’t Myth 2013

But I will start out “mything” 2014.  As you shall see… (keeping you reading.  See how I did that? LOL)

Backtrack….

I am not one to jump on the resolution bandwagon for all the obvious reasons.  That’s not to say I don’t enjoy the satisfaction of turning a page, starting new.  I guess I’m greedy but I want to have that satisfaction more than once a year.

I seem to get the most accomplished when I set a new goal every month. I used to set one for major areas of my life: spiritual, physical, home, business & writing.  That’s a lot of stuff and don’t always see the progress I’d like.  So I think I’m going to pick one or two each month of 2014 to try focus and create some routines that will help me stay on track better or develop new skills that will help me move forward.

One of the things I did accomplish FINALLY in 2013 was to get into an exercise routine.  I found something I like to do and have managed to integrate it into my life to the point of missing it when I don’t/can’t go.

If it wasn’t for the fact that I feel so good and that my clothes fit differently and that I love doing it, it would be easy to be discouraged from a weight loss standpoint.  I have to be healthier, and that’s what I try to keep at the forefront.  But there has to be a reason that the weight is not coming off.  “Oh, it’s what you eat then! Get rid of the chips and soda” seems to be the first response to that delimma, but I don’t have either of those things, nor cakes, cookies, donuts, pies, etc. in my house on a routine basis.  Now on special ocassions, like this past week with family, I eat what I want and I might even have half a can of soda (just can’t drink a whole one anymore).

“Okay, so what about gluten and sugar and dairy and the “wrong” fat and all your gut trouble”  follows response number one.  Don’t have gut trouble which is why I’ve not been too concerned with gluten or dairy. My digestive system seems to do a pretty good job all by itself as long as I drink the water I should. (Hard sometimes in the winter!).

“Must be hormones.”  Seems a credible thing–one I haven’t researched much yet.

So it’s all a big mystery to me, to the point of being tiresome at times because there are so many options.  But I’m going with what caught my interest and have decided that over the next few weeks I am diving into two books:

  • The Great Cholesterol Myth by Bowden and Sinatra
  • The Calorie Myth by Jonathan Bailor

The Great Cholesterol MythCalorieMyth

Both do focus on what food does to hormones and how they relate both to weight and heart disease.  Hope to get both read in January.

It boggles the mind how food has become a politcal issue.  Subsidies and lobbyists, what is financially advantageous and politically advantageous to feed to the public regardless of what research might say. On and on and on and on.  Humans turn such simple things into complicated messes.

Anyway, bring on 2014.  I still have some planning to do, but it wouldn’t take a whole lot to make this year a little less stressful than last. 🙂

I’m thinking about posting my monthly goals at the top of the month so I can get ideas and input on reaching them.  And readers could kindly ask from time to time how I’m doing if they wanted.  (Hint, hint)

Onward!

Your thoughts, please...

